Just Passing Thru ... 1983 Fuji "Team"

1983 Fuji "Team"

Recently purchased off of Boston's Craigslist by my friend Alex, it's now moving on to the sunny weather of Florida where my other friend Jose will enjoy it's almost new condition. All original, there's very few miles on this Team, it's the most spectacular example I've ever seen.  There's some evidence of it spending a great amount of it's life upside down resting on the ground, it's rubber hoods have deteriorated and are flattened on the tops.  The greatest amount of wear that I can find are the two small scuffs on the saddle. An incredible find ..

 

 

Comments

I have a badly neglected ‘83 Team Fuji exactly like this. I loved (LOVED!) riding it on long tours for 15-20 years, then abandoned it to my leaky garage in favor of hiking and skiing. Lately I’ve been riding again, on a touring bike with 38m tires, and I miss the agility and capability of the Fuji. So I’m considering modernizing it. Better brakes, better gearing, shifters I can actually reach… etc. A local shop can install a slightly used Groupset and do the rehab. Very affordable compared to a new bike of similar quality. Can you share any advise or comments on the question of keeping this classic Fuji classic, versus updating it to be functional for me with more modern technology?
Hi Alison, as much as I love all my Fujis to be 100% original, bicycles are meant to be ridden and be functional for the rider. The Fuji Team is not a rare model so I think you should upgrade it as much as your budget allows. Brake pads, brake cables and housing, new chain are where I'd start. Perhaps try some bar end shifters, they can be awfully nice. Good luck, send me photos if you'd like. Cheers. Scott
Thank you! That’s exactly what I’m thinking of doing, > On Oct 6, 2021, at 5:09 AM, Posthaven Comments wrote: > > 

Add a comment