1973 Fuji "Finest"

My 1973 Fuji "Finest" dressed mostly in Suntour Superbe with Nitto and Sugino accents.  A full restoration, this frame desperately needed a repaint and new decals.  VeloCals came thru once again, even matching some of the decals reflective qualities.  There is some artistic license, the "Fuji" decals on the down tube are usually not red, plus the type face matches later years but not the 1972.  Also, the decals separating the chrome and paint on the fork and stays have been added.  The head badge, the Fuji "Feather" was not found on the '72 or later years. The 1971 model of the Finest and the models that were sold in Japan sported this head badge, I decided to pay respect to the history of Fuji ... and their continued use of the "Feather" branding to this day.

Comments

I have this exact bike, well frame anyway. Original 'The Finest' was in gold. I bought mine used in 1976. The Fuji decals had been removed and I always liked it that way. Love the Superbe. I upgraded to Campy in back and newer Ultegra brakes. It's sort of a mish-mash in components but rides great. I always treated my bike like a high end stereo, mixing different components.

Love to get mine re-painted. Very Nice!

Wow! I had this bike in 1972 ! Best ever. A lot of great miles. One trip stands out ,Long Island N.Y. to Nova Scotia. I was able to remove all the paint and what remained was that beautiful chrome on the whole bike. Not just the forks & rear stays! Thanks for the memories..... Sadly it was stolen 3 years later.
That is really early. I have never seen the Fuji Feather headbadge. I had a 1973 . The "feather" designation was in Japanese only catalogs and not used as a US designation by Fuji America.
I have a 1972 FINEST that belonged to my dad. He rode it less than 100 miles. I have EVERYTHING that could ever possibly come with the bike. Even original purchase paperwork plus enough original spare parts and tools that you cannot imagine. The bike it too big for me and it is in PERFECT condition. I want to sell it and have it go to someone who would appreciate it. Anyone help point me in the right direction?
Good morning Douglas, that sounds like a very special Fuji to me. Yes, I can definitely help you find a proper buyer. I have one person in mind plus I could post it to my Fuji group. Please email me at scottryderphoto @ gmail . com and we can discuss further details. Merry Christmas!
I still have the Fuji Finest my dad bought me for high school graduation in 1973. Like Steve who commented above, I removed all the paint from my bike (around 1975), and rode a beautiful chrome bike for many years. It was my primary bike through 1997. Lately I have considered getting it rechromed. It really is a great bike.

Add a comment